Governing Body of Sydenham School

Our Governors are representatives of the local community, parents, school staff and the Local Education Authority. They bring a range of interests, knowledge and skills to the school and they all work in a voluntary capacity. They have responsibility for overseeing the strategic framework of the school including setting policies, approving the curriculum and overseeing the school budget.

The Governors support the Headteacher and give feedback, recognising and celebrating achievement, identifying where the school is not achieving as well as it could, and providing support and encouragement when exploring ideas for improvement. The Governing Body works as a team with shared responsibilities - Governors never make decisions on their own, nor do they act as individuals.

The Full Governing Body Minutes are available to view on request. Please contact the Clerk to the Governors via the school to arrange this.‚Äč



Gloria Lowe

Chair of Governors

Co-opted Governers

Co-opted Governors

Rebecca Manson Jones

Kenneth Tharp

Frances Downey

Fi Redpath

Sam Walker

Parent Governors

Parent Governors

Sarah Armstrong

Philippa Yeoman

Sarah McConnell

Maya Haimon Eilon

Paulette Semple

Elected Staff

Elected Staff Governor

Sarah Haar

LA Governor

LA Governor




Lewisham Governors' Services

Second Floor, Laurence House, 1 Catford Road, London, Se6 4Ru

Tel: 020 8314 6777


Governor Meeting dates 2019-20

Sydenham School

Governor Meeting dates 2019-2020

All Meetings 6pm- 8pm




Full Governing Body

Finance and Resources

Curriculum and Achievement

Pay Committee



Tuesday October 8th

Tuesday December 10th

Wednesday September 25th

Tuesday November 12th

Tuesday November 5th

Wednesday September 18th


Tuesday March 17th

Tuesday February 4th

Tuesday February 25th




Tuesday June 23rd

Tuesday May 19th

Tuesday June 2nd