English

Curriculum Leader:

Curriculum Leader (Acting) - Ms Johnson

c.johnson@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Deputy Curriculum Leader (Acting) - Mr Kerr -

j.kerr@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

 

Teachers:

Mr Marcus, Subject Leader Media Studies and KS5 English - 

l.marcus@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Emmanuel - j.emmanuel@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Wilson - h.wilson@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Mr Frost - d.frost@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Reid  - s.james@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Woodhouse - l.woodhouse@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Bridgman - k.bridgman@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Robinson - c.robinson@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Samuels - p.samuels@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Fison - e.fison@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Mr Hardman - t.hardman@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Guiver - m.guiver@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Studying English allows students to imagine, discover and experience worlds without boundaries and to experience life from different perspectives. At Sydenham, the English curriculum aims to inspire a love of literature as well as equipping students with the means to express themselves clearly and coherently, so that they are well prepared for further study and employment.

Key Stage Three

At KS3, we follow a broad curriculum, which builds on the skills students have developed at primary school. Students write in a range of forms and for different purposes and audiences, and read a wide range of texts including Shakespeare, poetry through time, modern drama, and contemporary novels.

Key Stage Four

At KS4 students prepare for their GCSE English Language and English Literature exams, studying Macbeth, A Christmas Carol, An Inspector Calls, and a selection of Love and Relationships poetry from the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. Students also master how to read an unseen text analytically and how to write for a range of purposes and contexts, with a focus on coherence and technical accuracy.

Key Stage Five

At A-level AQA Specification B offers a new challenge to students with a focus on critical reading and genre. Texts studied include Othello, Death of a Salesman, and the poetry of John Keats, seen through the lens of tragedy, and Hamlet, When Will There Be Good News, and the poetry of Oscar Wilde, George Crabbe, and Robert Browning, examined as examples of the crime genre.  Stage 5