Sociology

Curriculum Leader:

Ms Maduka 

n.maduka@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Teachers:

Sociology Teachers

Ms Jubeda Begum 

j.begum@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Nasrina Khan 

n.khan@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Cate Harbon

c.harbon@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Gill Pooley 

g.pooley@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

Ms Shanti Healey 

s.healey@sydenham.lewisham.sch.uk

 

Our Sociology curriculum provides students with an understanding of the human cultures and their interactions with each other. It develops global citizens that are empowered to solve problems in this beautifully complex world. 

The curriculum allows students to develop a deep knowledge of themselves and diverse cultures. It encourages curiosity of people ensures students are empowered to ask theoretical questions about why we do the things we do. Students will learn to appreciate each other and our differences and develop an understanding of how humans think and interact with each other.  

Through our Sociology curriculum, students will learn to confidently use a range of evidence to investigate our society and to develop their critical thinking skills and literacy. They will expand their sociological vocabulary and use it to communicate sociological ideas through discussion, debate, and writing.  Students will develop the skills to identify and challenge bias when thinking about critically different perspectives and to develop understanding of the big ideas in Sociology and how they interconnect. 

We develop High Performance Learners by teaching students how to be enquiring sociologists with a concern for society and who can make connections across their learning and think critically and logically about sociological issues and who can see alternative perspectives. We will develop global citizens that are motivated to investigate social issues affecting a diverse range of people now and in the future and who are empowered to solve problems the world may face. 

Curriculum and Assessment Information for Parents and Carers
Year 9 Year 10 Year 11 Sixth Form